2019 Recipients

MCHS 2019 Recognition Program Selectees

Nominating Committee

Dean Whitaker (Ch), Sharyn Mitchell, Laurel Steidle


Specific Historical Contributions

Beulah Nunn

This certificate of recognition is awarded to Beulah Cornelius Aspley Nunn for her singular efforts to preserve the architectural history of Kentucky and specifically her work in overseeing the renovation of the White Hall State Historic Site, home of Cassius M. Clay.  Several years of work to restore White Hall was completed in 1971, allowing it to open to the public. 



Robert Piper Boyce

This certificate of recognition is awarded to Robert P. Boyce for his contributions toward preserving the history of Berea and Berea College by publishing Berea College Country Dancers, History of the Berea College Art Department, and Building a College: an Architectural History of Berea College.  As a Berea College educator, he focused on art history of European, Latin American, Italian and African sectors.  His career culminated as Chair of the Art Department and Miller Mischler Endowed Chair in Art. 


Lavinia H. Kubiak

 This certificate of recognition is awarded to Lavinia Harvey Kubiak for her diligent work to catalog the historic architecture of Madison County homes, public buildings and churches.  She documented these findings in Madison County Rediscovered: Selected Historic Architecture in 1988 under the sponsorship of the Madison County Historical Society. 




Henry Allen Laine

This certificate of recognition is awarded to Henry Allen Laine for his exceptional work in improving the education of African American schools in Madison County through the creation of the Madison County Colored Teacher’s Association, the Colored Chautauqua, and as a teacher at Richmond High School.  He also was the first black Agricultural Extension Agent for Madison County, particularly focused on improving the farming practices of the African American farmers.  And in his spare time, wrote prolific amounts of poetry which was acclaimed for its sensitivity and style.


Sustained Historical Support 

Dr. John M. Fox

This certificate of recognition is awarded to Dr. John M. Fox for his exceptional work in preserving the remnants of Boone Trace, the first “road” (or trail) into Kentucky specifically for the purpose of bringing pioneers to settle the land. His efforts have resulted in long-range plans as well as current actions to document and mark Boone Trace for generations to come.


Preservation (Individual)

Loyal Jones

 This certificate of recognition is awarded to Loyal Jones for his life-long contributions to preserving the history and culture of the mountains of Kentucky through his work with the Berea College Appalachian Center, the Celebration of Traditional Music and the many books he has written documenting numerous aspects of Appalachian life. 


Preservation (Group)

No nominations in 2019